Mesquite News - Texas A&M University-San Antonio Online News
  • Thursday, October 17, 2019
  • 57°F
  • San Antonio, TX
Student Government Association
Student body encouraged to vote for SGA senators
September 17, 2015

Student body encouraged to vote for SGA senators

Student body encouraged to vote for SGA senators

Student government President Allison Garcia welcomes new student government member David Flores, a political science major on September 11,2015.

By Erica Martinez/@EricaTrine

Student Government Association will hold senator elections through Sept. 18.

SGA Vice President Brian Harrin spoke on Sept. 11 at the second SGA meeting of the semester to more than 15 hopeful students aspiring to run for student government senator. The meeting provided an overview of requirements students must meet in order to run for senate.

Students can vote on JagSync, a new portal launched to keep all student activities and clubs together on one site.

“It important for the different colleges to have a student representative because each college has different issues that need to be addressed,” Harrin said. “If a college isn’t represented then issues can’t be addressed accordingly.”

Every college at Texas A&M University-San Antonio has two senators elected by the student body. In the College of Arts and Sciences, there are four students running:  Adrienne Reyes, David Flores Jr, Noland Arocha and Christopher Vasquez. In the College of Education and Human Development Hector Soto and Esther Ramsey will run, and in the College of Business there are no students running for senate positions.

To vote, head to JagSync. Once you’re on JagSync click on “My Memberships,” in the top right corner, and it will take you directly to the form.

The next SGA Meeting will be on Friday Sept. 25 at 4:30 p.m, Room TBA. SGA meetings are held every two weeks.  For any questions regarding SGA or the elections, you can send an email to or stop by the Office of Student Activities located in CEAC, Suite 103.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the Author

Join the Conversation

Trending Now

© 2019 Jaguar Student Media | Texas A&M University-San Antonio. All Rights Reserved.
San Antonio Website Design & Development - Backyard Studios